September 12, 2019

Pamela Goldstein:, 617-227-9727 x5

The NIPNLG is thrilled to announce the recipients of the 2019 Carol W. King and Daniel Levy Awards:

Carol W. King Award Recipient

Denyse Sabagh

Denyse Sabagh

Each year the National Immigration Project gives an award to an outstanding individual in memory of Carol King, a founding member of the National Lawyers Guild who devoted her life to pursuing social justice by organizing, litigating, and teaching. This year’s recipient is:

Denyse Sabagh
Throughout her career, Denyse Sabagh has provided assistance to the Arab American and Muslim community, having represented many clients in post 9/11 and NSEERS proceedings and FBI interviews. Denyse has been an active NIPNLG member and supporter since 2007, and was instrumental in the termination of NSEERS.

Daniel Levy Award

IRAP, the International Refugee Assistance Project

irap logo

IRAP organizes law students and lawyers to develop and enforce a set of legal and human rights for refugees and displaced persons. Mobilizing direct legal aid, litigation, and systemic advocacy, IRAP serves some of the world’s most persecuted individuals and empowers the next generation of human rights leaders.

See previous awardees »  Learn about upcoming seminars »